LIS News – Books / Reading

Share
Latest Archive Sources

 

  • Overlooked No More: Sanmao, ‘Wandering Writer’ Who Found Her Voice in the Desert
    Her book, “Stories of the Sahara,” has endured for generations of young Taiwanese and Chinese women yearning for independence from conservative social norms. …
    Source: The New York Times – BooksPublished on 2019-10-23
  • Jack Reacher Is Still Restless. But His Creator Has Settled Down.
    With a TV project in the works and his 24th Reacher novel in stores this month, Lee Child has put down roots out West. …
    Source: The New York Times – BooksPublished on 2019-10-23
  • A Debut Fantasy Novel Summons the Power of African Myths
    In Kwame Mbalia’s “Tristan Strong Punches a Hole in the Sky,” a young boxer learns that the most important fight is the battle to control the story. …
    Source: The New York Times – BooksPublished on 2019-10-23
  • Elizabeth Warren Has a Poet on Her Team. Here’s Why That’s a Good Idea.
    Political rhetoric has gotten dull and empathy fatigue has set in. A more creative communication approach can combat that. …
    Source: The New York Times – BooksPublished on 2019-10-23
  • Book Riot’s Deals of the Day for October 23rd, 2019

    Sponsored by Twice in a Blue Moon by Christina Lauren, perfect for fans of Jennifer Weiner and Emily Giffin. These deals were active as of this writing, but may expire soon, so get them while they’re hot! Today’s Featured Deals Spinning Silver by Naomi Novik for $2.99. Get it here, or …
    Source: Book RiotPublished on 2019-10-23By Amanda Nelson
  • Journey to the Interactive World of Big City Map
    Imagine being able to walk around the world of your favorite comic book series. Imagine getting 360 views of pivotal locations for the comic book. Or even the possibility of wandering around in virtual simulation. The Idea of Big City Map That’s what Big City Map set out to do. …
    Source: Book RiotPublished on 2019-10-23By Elisa Shoenberger
  • Fall Books for Preschoolers: 18 Essential Autumnal Reads

    From fiery leaves to the apple harvest, fall is a season of wonder. We only have to look at the youngest among us to witness the majesty of fall through fresh eyes. Autumn children’s books definitely capture the beauty of the cooler months and often use fall as a launching …
    Source: Book RiotPublished on 2019-10-23By Sarah S. Davis
  • 8 Books to Read if You Liked CARNIVAL ROW

    I wasn’t entirely sure how I was going to feel about Carnival Row when I saw the first trailers, but throwing faeries into a London analogue is about as urban fantasy as it gets and the sub-genre is definitely my jam (one of many, many jams, of course). I ended up …
    Source: Book RiotPublished on 2019-10-23By S.W. Sondheimer
  • Scandal, Secrets, and Sisterhood: 16 Books Like BIG LITTLE LIES

    As the credits rolled on the second season finale of Big Little Lies, I mourned the story that started with Liane Moriarty’s beloved novel. Sure, I would miss the stunning scenery of coastal Monterey and its wind-swept bohemian vibe. But more crushing, I had grown fond of the characters, even …
    Source: Book RiotPublished on 2019-10-23By Sarah S. Davis
  • Monstrous Affections: Exploring Romance and Monsters

    One of my favorite books released this year has the perfect line in regards to romance and monsters. Jennifer Giesbrecht writes in her novella The Monster of Elendhaven: “Monster was the best, his favourite word. The first half was a kiss, the second a hiss.” Lately there’s been an …
    Source: Book RiotPublished on 2019-10-23By Lyndsie Manusos

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.