Latest Archive Sources

 

  • Book Riot’s Deals of the Day for May 23rd, 2019
    Sponsored by Amazon Publishing These deals were active as of this writing, but may expire soon, so get them while they’re hot! Today’s Featured Deals Call Me By Your Name by André Aciman for $1.99. Get it here, or just click on the cover image below. The Mother Tongue by Bill ...
    Source: Book RiotPublished on 2019-05-23By Amanda Nelson
  • Judith Kerr Has Died
    I’m writing this through tears. Judith Kerr, one of the great legends of children’s books has passed away, and I want to tell you about her. Born in 1923, Kerr grew up in Berlin until her family was forced to escape the rise of Nazism. She wrote about this ...
    Source: Book RiotPublished on 2019-05-23By LH Johnson
  • Yikes! We Need More Books in Translation
    On average, there are only 421 new fiction translations published each year in the United States, according to the recent Vulture article by Chad Post called “Will Translated Fiction Ever Really Break Through?” You might think, “421! That’s a lot!” but on average (and depending on where you’re looking) the ...
    Source: Book RiotPublished on 2019-05-23By Sarah Ullery
  • Crime Fiction as Self-Care
    Kicking back with a story about murder, a couple of cookies, and a cup of tea is a rather odd indulgence. But luckily for me, it’s also a rather commonplace one. You see, crime fiction is self-care for me. It’s how I stay relaxed and sink back into myself after ...
    Source: Book RiotPublished on 2019-05-23By Elisabeth Cook
  • How I Sustain My Reading Habit on a Tight Budget
    I’ve had to think about everything I spend money on these days, because I lost my full-time job last summer. I question if I can make my jeans last a little bit longer and analyze every sales ad to save money on my groceries. My book habit, though, has been ...
    Source: Book RiotPublished on 2019-05-23By Jen Connic
  • New Books By Your Favorite Authors Coming Out This Year
    What’s better than a new book? Finding out about a new book from one of your favorite authors! I’ll admit I’m a habitual peruser of Goodreads (gotta stay up to date on all the new books coming out, am I right?), but one of my absolute favorite things is when ...
    Source: Book RiotPublished on 2019-05-23By Rachel Brittain
  • Read-Alikes to Stephanie Garber’s Caraval Trilogy
    Alas, another epic series draws to a close this month. Stephanie Garber concluded her Caraval trilogy with the release of Finale, and as anyone who loves reading series can tell you, the last book hits hard whether you enjoy it or not. If you love it, you’re saying goodbye to ...
    Source: Book RiotPublished on 2019-05-23By Lyndsie Manusos
  • Rainbow Colors, Rainbow Families: An Interview With Children’s Book Author Michael Genhart
    With more than 25 years of experience working with LGBTQ clients and 15 years visiting and speaking at local elementary, middle, and high schools to talk about LGBTQ issues, clinical psychologist and #ownvoices author Michael Genhart brings a much needed perspective to children’s books. His most recent book, Rainbow: A First ...
    Source: Book RiotPublished on 2019-05-23By Margaret Kingsbury
  • 3 Short Stories That Would Make Great Graphic Novels
    In 2016, Shirley Jackson’s grandson Mile Hyman created a graphic novel for Jackson’s renowned short story “The Lottery.” Its ending is still shocking to read, and to see it in graphic novel form brings it all hauntingly to life. It’s curious to me that we don’t see more short stories adapted ...
    Source: Book RiotPublished on 2019-05-23By Lyndsie Manusos
  • 10 Bookish Eid Gifts for Kids
    There are always plenty of articles about Ramadan, but hardly any about Eid. Muslims do fast and pray a lot, but we know how to party, too! After the holy month of Ramadan, we celebrate with the holiday Eid, loosely translated to feast. It’s a day of dressing up, eating ...
    Source: Book RiotPublished on 2019-05-23By Shireen Hakim
1 2 3 56